Saturday, March 6, 2010

I've decided not to post on this blog anymore

When I started my night job over a year ago, the woman I took care of LOVED the Real Housewives series on Bravo. And I started watching it, too. But no more…and here’s why:

It occurred to me yesterday that the male (lack of) “brains” behind the Real Housewives shows could very well be misogynists, and the supposedly smart women on the show are actually stupid.

Or vain enough not to care they’re being used.

Not sure which.

Let’s think about it: the producers throw a bunch of sexy, rich, beautiful women together and make them look like classless, bitchy, bitter, money grubbing assholes. They show the women at their absolute WORST: flaunting relationships with married men, physically fighting and LOTS of name calling.

The women derive their joy and glee from reveling in each other’s problems and the more severe the problem, the more they delight in it. Oh, they fake a little concern now and then, and some hide behind Jesus, like when someone loses a home or when their marriage is on the rocks or their health is in jeopardy, but they’re right back at the digs and jabs in the next scene. One minute they’ll be complimenting each other ever so sincerely–”You look beautiful!”–and the next they flash to that same woman making fun of the person–“What IS she wearing?!”

Two faced much?

The folks behind the show dump women who aren’t bitchy and catty enough because that doesn’t get ratings. The ones who fight and scream and throw tables are the ones who get all the camera time.

Yep, misogynists. Female Producers, what's your excuse? How could you participate in this charade?


I have heard people say the Real Housewives is "their guilty little pleasure." Translation: we think it gives us a legitimate excuse to tear other people down.

Now we have some “housewives” who are smart enough to realize they didn’t come off as sincere and nice last season, so they’re faking that this time around. How sad.


True friendships can never survive this sort of hateful environment and the show proves that out. Every time a new season comes on, the women who were friends before, are now enemies.


What amazes me is that the “brains” behind the show are able to lure these supposedly intelligent women into this scam. I’m guessing it makes them feel important–they’re celebs!!—but I wonder if they realize how they REALLY look?

I wonder if they realize they’re being mocked every bit as much as they mock their cast mates?

I wonder if they realize they’re perpetuating the stereotype of the rich, materialistic bitch?

I wonder if they realize this behavior LOWERS them, instead of elevates them? I wonder if they realize the money isn’t worth it when you’ve lost your authentic self?

I wonder if they realize all the money they’ve made these men by their sad behavior? Well, some of them must because now they’re trying to get more money to degrade themselves.

I wonder if they realize they’re perpetuating the myth that two strong women can’t be close friends? That other women canNOT be trusted?

I wonder if they realize? And more importantly, I wonder if the CARE?

I have realized that watching the show brings out a bitchiness in me that I don’t like, and that’s why I won’t be watching anymore. I got sucked into it for too long, but I’m done. I don’t like the person I become when I watch it; I can’t imagine how much it changes you taking part in it.

I need programming that helps me celebrate being a woman, programming that teaches me that it’s ok to be smart, rich AND female, not more programming that makes me ashamed to be a woman.

Friday, March 5, 2010

they're baaack!

Why in the world would Alex drape the walls and ceiling of her home office with that depressing black fabric?!

I get that they need to leave it open so they can read the meters, but why not use white fabric or a pastel fabric?

What's more depressing than being surrounded BLACK?

thoughts on the St. Regis show

I don't know why anyone would consider Tamara a friend. I don't know whether she's normally that bitter or backbite-y or whether she was just in fine form because of her fight with her husband, but at the party, she was a bitch on wheels.

She'd gush over people and tell them how fabulous they looked, then they cut away to her saying, "What in the world are they wearing? They look ridiculous. How sincere of her. And even when she dragged Vicki into her problems, when Simon demanded to know what she was talking about, she lied and put the onus on Vicki's shoulders again. No wonder Vicki doesn't want to get in the middle of their mess.

Gotta love how Lynne brings her underage girls to the party DRUNK then says it was such a big limo she didn't know they were drinking. Uh, the limo isn't THAT big. Not like the kids were a football stadium away, but even so, how does Lynne explain the fact that she pretty much let them do what they wanted at the party while she did her socializing?! Stop crying and whining about how you WANT to be a mother and BE ONE.

thoughts on last week's show

I can't believe Vicki had the balls to cry on Jeanne's shoulders after the girls supposedly dissed her at the restaurant. After the way Vicki treated Jeanne and said she was "toxic"...unreal.

Why does Simon keep INSISTING he and Tamara have the "perfect marriage"? Does he think if he says it often enough people will believe him? She is scathing towards him, I don't know why he'd want to be with her anyway.

If Alexis' mom wanted to look ten years younger, she should skip the brow lift and all that other bullshit, lighten her hair and get her teeth fixed/whitened. She's too old for that dark red lipstick she was wearing. And WTF was with Alexis and her "I want another bite of bread" then she took a nibble that would make a mouse look like a pig.

Once again Frank and Lynne astound me. They've been kicked out of their home and not only did she have all that plastic surgery, but they're still dining out at fancy restaurants!

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

own it, pt deux

Lynne and her family is unreal.

SHE just had a facelift and her daughter had a nose job, even though the husband said RIGHT ON TAPE that he was having financial difficulties. And yet they're acting like he's the one who has done all the irresponsible spending.

Then, of course, Alexa has to make it all about her..."me, me, me" boohoo. She cries all the time and yet she NEVER SHEDS A TEAR. Take acting lessons, kid.

ANDY COHEN, GET THIS KID OFF THE SHOW! SHE IS RUINING IT.

And WTH is with Frank? The family has been kicked out of their house and he's talking FAMILY VACATION?! That's like an alcoholic celebrating sobriety by drinking....

LOLOLOL!!

I LMAO when Jim told the pastor that sometimes they have to use their "looks" because they are "gifts."

Dude, you were NOT given a gift. Get over yourself.




own it

The more I see of Vicki, the more she comes off as a pathetic victim. She called Alexis out on using her phone at the table, then she did it. When Alexis remarked on it, Vicki was the first to say "bring it on". Yet when the ladies tried to point out the double standard, once again Vicki boo hoo'ed that they were all "picking on her".

Then she does the same thing she always does, she walks out and starts bawling. Then she calls everyone else "toxic". Grow up.

She does say whatever she wants about the other ladies, but God forbid they call her on it.

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

rings true

Love how in the middle of Vicki's wedding vow renewal, she stops to tell Don about his new wedding ring. The size, cut, clarity...blah blah. Damn, they should have filmed that for a Kay Jeweler's Christmas ad.

Very romantic.

the real brats of the OC

Gawd, I wish they'd STOP focusing on Lynne and her brat. Alexa is so fricking annoying.

In one breath she's all, "My parents should just ground me instead of yelling at me." Right, they grounded her and she walked out. What a major PITA. Her "drama" is annoying.

I almost LMAO when Alexa said she was "really mature for my age". Riiiight. And her actions really prove that, don't they?

Can we have one episode in which she doesn't do her "boo hoo nobody loves me" routine?

Friday, January 22, 2010

grrrreat comeback!

My FAVORITE PART of this week's ep was when Christian Alexis was all cat fighty because she thought someone was after her man!

I LOVED IT when Gretchen's friend said, "Can I just say this? He is NOT attractive! No one is hitting on her husband!" LOL!!

I couldn't get over the way Jim just told Alexis the conversation was over and she sucked it up like a five year old kid.

And for Jim to say he was "naive" about the woman supposedly hitting on him? Come on, he was loving every minute of it. That's why he stood back and let the women argue over him.

And Lynne, shut the hell up about your kid. Gretchen tried to help you and you said you had it alllllll under control, that you and your daughter have a GREAT relationship. Why then do you have to call in the experts to help? Clearly Alexa thinks she's hot shit and is trying to get screen time. She's boring to watch and focusing on her is ridiculous. She's not a housewife. Wish I had a quarter for every time that ditz used the word "like"....

Saturday, January 16, 2010

around and around we go!

Supposedly Bravo is considering former soapstress Victoria Rowell for a part on Real Housewives of Altanta.

NeNe and Kim are allegedly asking for huge sums of money, so the big guns are threatening to bring in someone else. NeNe and Kim love seeing themselves on tv way too much to ever leave the show, but I think they'd be wise to dump Lisa Wu Hartwell because she is boring squared.

I think it would be an unfortunate career move for Rowell. These ladies don't exactly come across as classy, save for Kandi. However, Rowell does seem to have the proper level of snobbishness for the show.

NJ rumors abound!

Remember the huge mansion Theresa was moving into last year, and how she was paying for everything with a wad of cash? Rumor is the bank has already foreclosed on it.

Damn. I don't even think they lived there a year.

But come on. Unless you're a Catholic church, how does one sustain living in a marble palace in this economy?

Apparently Theresa's husband Joe was arrested for an alleged DUI, and when another PD found out about it, he was arrested for several outstanding arrest warrants concerning city ordinance violations.

O.C. rumors abound!

I think it's rather fascinating that Tamara was accusing Gretchen of sleeping around and now Tamara's soon to be ex, Simon, is saying SHE allegedly slept around. Interesting. I'm sorry but Tamara's son is a spoiled brat. Since when is it "no big deal" to take someone's car without their permission, especially when you don't have a driver's license?

Lynn's daughter ought to be ashamed of herself and Lynn needs to realize that sometimes it's easier for teens to talk to someone OTHER THAN their parents. She's got such an inferiority complex she can't even see that Gretchen was legitimately trying to help. And the brat that Gretchen tried to help is too stupid to see that she was honestly reaching out to her. Dumb and dumber.

It's also rumored that Lynn is allegedly heading for divorce court. Don't know if it's true or not.

Another very interesting rumor is that Alexis--Mrs. "We're good Christians"--was married before and her husband allegedly divorced her because of alleged cheating. I'm sorry, but when I think "strong Christian" I do NOT think of a woman who is clearly vain and shallow. She spends so much time fretting about her looks I'm wondering where she finds the time for Jesus?